Transit E-Visa to Djibouti

Transit E-Visa issued mostly to travelers who need to get the connecting flights to reach their destinations. Mostly no stay in Djibouti allowed during the visit.

Check if you need a Travel Visa

To provide information regarding your eligibility & applicable fees, please select your citizenship.

Transit E-Visa to Djibouti

Transit E-Visa issued mostly to travelers who need to get the connecting flights to reach their destinations. Mostly no stay in Djibouti allowed during the visit.

Check if you need a Travel Visa

To provide information regarding your eligibility & applicable fees, please select your citizenship.

What is the process of applying E-visa to Djibouti?

Djibouti City is also the railhead for the one line serving Addis Abeba, the neighboring capital of Ethiopia. Djibouti is bounded to the north by Eritrea, to the west by Ethiopia and the south by Somalia. Forests account for less than 1 percent of the total land area of Djibouti. Much of the minimal forest cover in the country has long been used for grazing and firewood. Djibouti has little Human Heritage. Salt is processed, but some are exported, and others are commercialized through the economy’s informal market. Fossil fuels generate virtually all of the country’s electricity.

Businessman holding card of djibouti flag

The E-visa to Djibouti is a short-term visa granted for persons connecting through Djibouti to other destinations for a period not exceeding 72 hours. This type of visa is granted for transit purposes only.

The following nationalities are eligible for the E-visa to Djibouti:


Algeria, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Reunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Senegal, Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Congo, Sao Tome and Principe


Japan, Macau, Laos

Central America

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Panama, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, Sint Maarten, Trinidad and Tobago, US Virgin Islands, Nicaragua, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Kitts and Nevis, British Virgin Islands

Central Asia

Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan


Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bulgaria, Belgium, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France,  Finland, Greece, Gibraltar, Germany, Hungary, Holy See, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Lithuania, Kosovo, Latvia, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Monaco, Moldova, Malta, Montenegro, Norway, Netherlands, Portugal, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Ukraine, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Middle East

Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Georgia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Syria, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Yemen, Saudi Arabia, Armenia, Qatar, Palestinian Territories

North America

Bermuda, Canada, Mexico, United States of America


American Samoa, Australia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu

South America

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Suriname, Uruguay, Ecuador, Peru, Venezuela

South Asia

Bangladesh, Pakistan, India, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan

Southeast Asia

Brunei, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, North Korea, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Vietnam, South Korea  

Singapore national eligible for 90 days exemption. If you want to stay more than the specified period, you need a visa to travel.  

The Djibouti Visa Charge varies depending on your period of stay in Djibouti, which ranges from 12 USD to 23 USD. We additionally charge a service fee of 10 USD. To find the actual visa price for your nationality and required visa type, please use our click2visas visa widget.

An E-visa to Djibouti application may take three days. The applicant must apply once the travel plan is confirmed.

An E-visa to Djibouti is valid for 90 days from the date you enter Djibouti.

A passport should have at least six months’ validity from the date of application and must have at least two blank pages.

For an E-visa to Djibouti, the following documents are needed:

  1. An invitation letter (organization or host with their contacts)
  2. A flight reservation.
  3. An accommodation address

The applicant can enter Djibouti by using the E-visa to Djibouti Only Through the following international airport. Ambouli International Airport.

No. Travellers are not allowed to apply E-visa to Djibouti While in Djibouti. Each traveler should apply for an E-visa to Djibouti before traveling to Djibouti.

At the port of entry, all travelers should show their eVisa and keep it with their passport at all times when traveling to the Djibouti officials visa.

Yes. A child’s passport must be valid for at least the next six months with your child’s identification data and passport information for this application.

No. A Djibouti Transit visa is not valid for employment. You must apply for a regular visa in order to work in Djibouti.

Passenger in a airport lounge waiting for flight aircraft, young man with cellphone in airport waiting for landing

Travelers with dual or multiple citizenships must choose which nationality and passport to use for their trip, which utilizes Djibouti Transit Visa.

Yes. However, travelers applying for a Djibouti Transit Visa must apply using the passport of the eligible country.

No. You cannot apply online if you do not have a valid passport from an eligible country with at least six months’ validity.

No. The applicant will receive an electronic visa, which does not require anything to be stamped prior to travel. All visas are sent via email. The applicant may print out a copy of their visa before they travel and bring it with them to the port of entry.

When using a Djibouti Transit Visa, you can make use of connecting through Djibouti to other destinations.

The applicant must prove the purpose of travel by presenting the travel itinerary or any other documents to prove the purpose of the trip.

No. Upon approval, Click2Visas will send the applicant their ETA via email in PDF format.

Yes. All nationalities are eligible to apply for a Djibouti Transit Visa online.

Yes, all travelers need to have a valid Djibouti Transit Visa before traveling to Djibouti.

No. The validity period of the e-Visa begins from the date of arrival specified on their application. The traveler can enter Djibouti on any date within the validity period.

No. The Djibouti Transit Visa is just a landing authorization issued by the government of Djibouti. Any respective Djibouti officials at the entry port reserve the right to deny entry into Djibouti without an explanation, even though if the applicant has a valid Djibouti Transit Visa.