Airlines Baggage Policy
Car rental
Flight Booking
Hotel Booking
Travel Insurance

Covid-19 Travel Restrictions in Canada

4 months

Canada has banned all foreign nationals from entering. However, only by land, rail, or sea, and not by air, can Canadian citizens and permanent residents with COVID-19 symptoms enter the country.

Canada has banned all foreign nationals from entering. For critical purposes, travelers who are not Canadian nationals, permanent residents, or individuals registered under the Indian Act can enter Canada only. People traveling for leisure, sightseeing, relaxation, entertainment, social visits, or religious functions will be denied entry.

Doctor hold the antiseptic and masks in his hand

For non-discretionary or non-optional reasons, Canadian nationals, permanent residents, their immediate families, ambassadors, airline crews, and travelers arriving from the United States can always enter Canada. There are only international flights operated by Toronto Pearson (YYZ), Montreal Pierre Elliott Trudeau (YUL), Calgary International Airport (YYC), and Vancouver International Airport (YVR). This measure currently does not impact domestic flights, as well as flights from the United States, such destinations such as Mexico and the Caribbean, and from St. Pierre-et-Miquelon.

The country can still be entered by seasonal farm employees, fish/seafood employees, caregivers, temporary foreign workers, international students with valid study permits or study permit approvals valid from at least 18 March 2020, and permanent resident applicants who have been approved prior to 18 March 2020 and who have not yet traveled to Canada. Other individuals with a special dispensation to enter Canada include French citizens living in Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, individuals enrolled under the Indian Act, refugees with a visa exemption and their immediate families, and individuals with a special permit from the Government of Canada.

A face cover must be provided for all passengers on flights to Canada. It would be illegal for travelers who show signs to board planes bound for Canada. They will be referred to the Canadian Public Health Department if they show symptoms upon arrival. Travelers who have been refused boarding over the previous 2 weeks for medical reasons connected with COVID-19 may not enter the country. Upon arrival at their destination in Canada, travelers must self-isolate for 14 days. Travelers who have disembarked from a cruise ship with a confirmed outbreak of COVID-19, such as the ‘Diamond Princess’ will be forced to stay in quarantine at a position decided by the Chief Public Health Officer for 14 days. North Macedonian passports that have expired on or after March 18, 2020, will be considered valid until July 31, 2020, for entry into Canada. An Electronic Travel Authorization must be obtained for visitors transiting through Canada who are not otherwise exempted (for example, by keeping a valid Canadian visa or permanent resident card). For more information, see Transport Canada’s website.

This publication is provided for general information purposes only and is not intended to cover every aspect of the topics with which it deals. It is not intended to amount to advice on which you should rely. You must obtain professional or specialist advice before taking, or refraining from, any action on the basis of the content in this publication. Through this blog post you are able to link to other websites which are not under the control of FULFILL Holding Pvt limited. We have no control over the nature, content and availability of those sites. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them. The information in this publication does not constitute legal, tax or other professional advice from FULFILL Holding Pvt limited or its affiliates. We make no representations, warranties or guarantees, whether express or implied, that the content in the publication is accurate, complete or up to date.