Click2visas Logo


Airlines Baggage Policy
Car rental
Flight Booking
Hotel Booking
Travel Insurance

Covid-19 Travel Restrictions in Bulgaria

5 months

Visitors from most European countries, Bulgaria has reopened its borders.

The entry of all visitors who are not citizens or family members of nationals of the European Union, the Schengen States (including San Marino, Andorra, Monaco, and the Vatican City), or the United Kingdom has been prohibited by Bulgaria.

People at facial protective masks at almost empty street 

The country can also be accessed by nationals of Australia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Belarus, Georgia, Israel, Japan, Moldova, Kosovo, Kuwait, Montenegro, New Zealand, Korea of the North, Tunisia, Rwanda, Serbia, Thailand, Uruguay, Turkey, Ukraine, and the UAE. Bulgarian nationals and their family members, permanent residents and holders of long-term residency permits, as well as long-term residents and family members of the EEA / Schengen and UK countries, can also enter the country. There are certain other exceptions for medical workers, students attending a Bulgarian university, diplomats, and certain groups of workers, which are important to the state of Bulgaria.

For nationals arriving in Bulgaria from the EU Member States, the United Kingdom, and the Schengen countries, and from Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, Ukraine and Jordan, a PCR test is not needed. The national of these countries are not subject to a quarantine period of 14 days.

Nationals from North Macedonia, Albania, Serbia, Kosovo, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Israel, and Kuwait have been able to reach Bulgaria in the last 72 hours with a negative PCR test. A document with a negative result, written in the Latin method (PCR), must be sent to the Bulgarian border authorities, containing the name of the person according to the identification document with which he travels, the data of the laboratory that carried out the test and the date on which the PCR test was performed. Travelers who fall under one of the above exception categories but the whose journey to Bulgaria nationals in any other country should present a negative result as a result of a PCR test carried out up to 3 days before their arrival in Bulgaria will not be able to leave Bulgaria before the 14-day quarantine deadline. Traveling and leaving the quarantine grounds would be treated as an infringement.

EU, Schengen or United Kingdom nationals and long-term residents and their family members may transit through Bulgaria to their country of residence, while nationals of North Macedonia, Albania, Kosovo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia or Turkey may transit through Bulgaria to return to the country of their nationality. Transit is only allowed when the traveler leaves Bulgaria immediately.

Bulgarian passports and national ID cards expiring on or after 13 March 2020 will be deemed to be valid for a period of 6 months.

This publication is provided for general information purposes only and is not intended to cover every aspect of the topics with which it deals. It is not intended to amount to advice on which you should rely. You must obtain professional or specialist advice before taking, or refraining from, any action on the basis of the content in this publication. Through this blog post you are able to link to other websites which are not under the control of FULFILL Holding Pvt limited. We have no control over the nature, content and availability of those sites. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them. The information in this publication does not constitute legal, tax or other professional advice from FULFILL Holding Pvt limited or its affiliates. We make no representations, warranties or guarantees, whether express or implied, that the content in the publication is accurate, complete or up to date.