Covid-19 Travel Restrictions in the Netherlands

Covid-19 Travel Restrictions in the Netherlands

1 week ago

The Netherlands has started accepting tourists from countries beyond the EU/Schengen region.

The Netherlands has prohibited the entry of non-EU citizens, residency permit holders, or long-stay visa holders from the EEA Member States, Switzerland, or the United Kingdom, or their spouses, to travelers arriving on flights from outside the EU. There are exemptions for such special circumstances, such as travelers attending a funeral or studying at an institution in the Netherlands. It is possible to find a full list of exemptions here. EU and UK nationals from outside those countries may access the Netherlands, but they will be subject to a 14-day quarantine.

An asian man is wearing ppe suit in international airport , safety travel , covid-19 protection , social distancing concept

For residents of Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China, the EU non-essential travel ban has also been lifted (contingent on China allowing EU people to enter). The list is subject to review and can be found here.

A health screening form must be completed by travelers entering the Netherlands. The Dutch Government has a color-coded scheme of countries and regions with high risk (orange) and lower risk (yellow). On arrival, travelers entering from high-risk (orange) regions or countries are expected to self-isolate for 10 days. Visitors must comply with all the measures and regulations that exist to battle the spread of coronavirus. Before they fly to the Netherlands, visitors must also book their holiday accommodation. Visit the FAQ on holiday trips to the Netherlands for the latest information: here.

An additional exemption for foreigners engaged in long-distance ties with Dutch citizens/residents was declared on July 16 by the Dutch government.

Non-EU nationals currently not living in or physically present in the EU are also subject to travel restrictions and will not be permitted to enter the Netherlands for tourism purposes.