Covid-19 Travel Restrictions in Greece

Covid-19 Travel Restrictions in Greece

2 weeks ago

Greece is available to travelers from the EU/Schengen nations, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Montenegro, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and the United Arab Emirates.

Asian woman with a surgical face mask waiting in the airport

Except for citizens of EU+ countries, Greece has prohibited the entry of all travelers. The EU+ comprises the European Union, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Norway, Liechtenstein, and Iceland.

The nation may also be visited by residents of Australia, Georgia, Canada, Japan, Rwanda, Montenegro, New Zealand, Thailand, South Korea, Uruguay, Tunisia, and the UAE. Those arriving from the UAE must fly on a direct flight and must have proof of permanent residency in the UAE, return tickets and hotel reservations, a COVID-19 negative PCR test given 72 hours prior to departure, a Passenger Locator Form (PLF), and travel insurance.

Travelers from Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Israel, Malta, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Russia, Spain, or the United Arab Emirates may be refused entry if they do not have a negative coronavirus resulting from a PCR test performed no more than 72 hours prior to arrival.

For reasons approved by the Greek Embassy or Consulate, international travelers may not arrive from other areas unless they are in an important category such as healthcare professionals, students, government officials, diplomats, military personnel, humanitarian aid staff, airline crew, seasonal workers, transit travelers or travelers entering Greece.

From 15 June onwards, for anyone arriving in Greece from airports identified by the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), mandatory checking and self-isolation/quarantine will remain in place. These conditions can be exempted from travelers coming from other places. A Passenger Locator Form (PLF) must be completed 24 hours before check-in at https:/ For all passengers except those only transiting via an airport in Greece. Upon arrival, a QR code created from the completed form must be presented. Flights from Turkey are suspended, except for flights for the repatriation of Greek nationals and citizens and special flights ordered by the government.

Via Thessaloniki (SKG), North Macedonian nationals can enter Greece and move on to North Macedonia by road. They must have their trip pre-approved by an official body, such as the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Greece or the Embassy of North Macedonia.