Covid-19 Travel Restrictions in Denmark

Covid-19 Travel Restrictions in Denmark

2 weeks ago

Denmark has reopened its borders to travelers from most European countries; restrictions remain in place for most non-EU / Schengen and UK travelers.

Guy in disposable medical mask standing at train station on sunset.

As of June 27, Denmark has revised its travel restrictions. Danish nationals and residents can still come back from anywhere in Denmark. Entry regulations for travelers who are not citizens or nationals depend on whether they come from a ‘free’ country or a ‘banned’ country. The status of a country will change depending on its COVID-19 infection rate. On Thursdays, the status is updated weekly and can be found here. As of 19 August, except for Spain, Malta, Belgium, Romania, and Bulgaria, all EEA countries and the UK are ‘open.’ Except for Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Georgia, Japan, South Korea, Tunisia, Thailand, and Uruguay, all countries outside the EU/Schengen region and the UK are currently ‘limited’.’ Travelers arriving from ‘open’ countries without having to go through a quarantine will reach Denmark.

Travelers with a ‘worthy reason’ without having to go through a two-week quarantine can even travel to Denmark. Proof would be required to prove a ‘worthy reason’ to join. For example, work or research in Denmark, transporting goods, and various family-related reasons, visiting a family member or a spouse who is a resident of Denmark, are examples of ‘worthy purposes.’ The complete ‘worthy purposes’ list is subject to change and can be found here. Travelers from a “banned” country are advised to check their helpline (+45 7020 6044) with the Danish authorities to confirm whether they will be permitted to enter the country.

The Danish government authorizes the entry into Denmark of ‘sweethearts,’ fiancées, and other close relationships of Danish citizens or foreign nationals lawfully residing in Denmark, as long as the individual should provide evidence of a negative COVID-19 test carried out no more than 72 hours prior to entry. This exemption is unique to Denmark and is not applicable to all countries within the Schengen zone or the EU. Under the ‘sweetheart declaration’ from outside the EU, to ensure a smooth entry into the country, travelers going to Denmark are strongly encouraged to take a nonstop flight to Denmark.

Via Denmark, travelers returning to their home country may pass. On flights and within the airport, all travelers transiting or traveling to/from Denmark must always wear masks.