Covid-19 Travel Restrictions in China

Covid-19 Travel Restrictions in China

2 weeks ago

Except for Hong Kong, Macao, and Taiwan passport holders, China has prohibited the entry of all foreign nationals.

Except for Chinese citizens, Hong Kong, Macau, or Taiwan passport holders, and travelers with diplomatic, service, courtesy of C visas or visas issued after March 28, 2020, China has limited entry and transit to all travelers.

Doctor hold the antiseptic and masks in his hand

As of September 28, foreign nationals with a residency permit can re-enter China for the purpose of work, personal affairs, and reunion. A new one can be required by holders of expired residence permits.

Visas may be sought from Chinese embassies or consulates by foreign nationals coming to mainland China for required economic, trade, scientific or technical activities, or for emergency humanitarian needs. Travelers arriving in Beijing (PEK), Guangzhou (CAN), Shanghai Hongqiao (SHA), Shanghai Pudong (PVG), Shenzhen (SZX), or Xiamen (XMN) undergo 14 days of medical screening and quarantine. Airline crew with a layover at the airports referred to above must undergo NAT inside the passenger terminal and then temporarily self-isolate at their hotel until the NAT results are obtained.

A QR code created from a completed “Health Declaration Form” upon arrival must be presented by all travelers arriving in China. The forms can be accessed at http:/ prior to departure. In addition to the form, travelers must apply a negative COVID-19 test taken within 3 days before travel.

Chinese nationals from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Korea of the South, Malaysia, the Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, UK or the United States must announce their state of health within the 14-day WeChat program ‘FANG YI JIAN KANG MA’ Before departure, a green QR code created from the software needs to be presented. A COVID-19 nucleic acid test result will be needed to produce this code for Chinese nationals arriving from the following countries: Bangladesh, Chad, Egypt, Iran, Kenya, Luxembourg, North Macedonia, Pakistan, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, or Turkey.

Bangladesh, Cameroon, Chad, Egypt, Guinea, Iran, Kenya, Luxembourg, Malta, North Macedonia, Pakistan, Russia, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, or Zimbabwe must have the COVID-19 nucleic acid test results released no later than 5 days before departure for all travelers arriving from or transiting through the following countries. The same is true for travelers who have visited the Maldives or the United Kingdom (21 August), Senegal (24 August), or Belarus (28 August).